Celebrating Excellence: Highlights from the 2024 Hanteo Music Awards

The curtains have closed on the prestigious 2024 Hanteo Music Awards, crowning luminaries like NCT Dream, SEVENTEEN, and aespa as the night’s biggest victors. Let’s delve into the winners’ circle and recap the grandeur of this year’s ceremony.

Held over the weekend of February 17 to 18 at the Dongdaemun Design Plaza (DDP) in Seoul, South Korea, the 2024 Hanteo Music Awards was a two-day extravaganza hosted by TVXQ’s Changmin. The event culminated with the presentation of the four coveted Daesang (grand prizes), highlighting the pinnacle of musical excellence.

Award recipients were determined based on a comprehensive evaluation process, with criteria including data from the global Hanteo Charts, global voting scores, and judging panels. NCT Dream clinched the title of Best Artist, SEVENTEEN triumphed with the Best Album, and Stray Kids secured the Best Performance accolade.

The accolade for Best Song was bestowed upon IVE for their chart-topping anthem ‘I AM’. However, it was aespa who emerged as the night’s ultimate victors, claiming three prestigious awards: Artist of the Year, Best Trend Leader, and the esteemed Global Generation Icon recognition.

Among the illustrious lineup of winners were ATEEZ, RIIZE, and individual accolades for BTS members V, Jimin, and Jungkook for their remarkable solo endeavors.

Full List of Winners:

Awards given out on Day 1:

  • Emerging Artist: VIVIZ, TEMPEST
  • Popular Global Group: Kep1er
  • Popular Performance Group: VIVIZ
  • Popular Solo Artist: Jeong Dong-won
  • Favorite Vocal Performance: Kim Jae-hwan
  • Favorite Band Performance: LUCY
  • Favorite Crossover Group: Libelante
  • Hanteo Choice K-pop Female Artist: Billlie
  • Hanteo Choice K-pop Male Artist: VANNER
  • Special Award – Band: Xdinary Heroes
  • Special Award – Virtual Artist: PLAVE
  • Special Award – Trot: Young Tak
  • Post-Generation: Lee Chan-won
  • WhosFandom Award: Lim Young-woong and his fanbase, Hero Generation

Awards given out on Day 2:

  • Best Artist: NCT Dream
  • Best Song: IVE
  • Best Album: SEVENTEEN
  • Best Performance: Stray Kids
  • Artist of the Year: NCT Dream, IVE, SEVENTEEN, Stray Kids, Tomorrow X Together (TXT), aespa, ATEEZ, NewJeans, NCT 127, LE SSERAFIM, (G)I-DLE, ENHYPEN, Jungkook (BTS), Jimin (BTS), V (BTS)
  • Top Global Performer: ATEEZ
  • Next Worldwide Artist: RIIZE
  • Global Artist – Asia & North America: TXT
  • Global Artist – South America & Oceania: Jimin (BTS)
  • Global Artist – Europe & Africa: V (BTS)
  • Global Generation Icon: aespa
  • Global Rising Artist: KISS OF LIFE
  • Global Outstanding Artist: NMIXX
  • Rookie of the Year: tripleS, ZEROBASEONE
  • Best Trend Leader: aespa
  • Special Award – Ballad: Parc Jae-jung
  • Popular Band Artist: Daybreak
  • Legend Rock Icon: YB
  • Blooming Performance Group: 8TURN

As the Hanteo Music Awards continues to serve as a benchmark of excellence in the industry, it’s a testament to the global impact and cultural significance of South Korean music. From rising stars to seasoned veterans, each award symbolizes a milestone achieved and a journey celebrated in the ever-evolving world of music.