Pearl Jam Unveils ‘Dark Matter’ Album Details and Shares Title Track

Pearl Jam has set the stage for their highly anticipated 12th album, Dark Matter, with the release of its thunderous title track. The forthcoming record, slated for release on April 19 via Monkeywrench Records, marks the band’s return since their 2020 offering, Gigaton.

The title track, ‘Dark Matter,’ offers a visceral glimpse into the band’s sonic evolution, delivering a potent blend of raw energy and melodic intensity. Fans can immerse themselves in the track’s thrashing guitars and commanding vocals, setting the tone for what promises to be a gripping musical journey.

Accompanying the announcement, the band has unveiled the tracklist, featuring titles such as ‘Sacred Of Fear,’ ‘React, Respond,’ and ‘Setting Sun,’ hinting at the album’s thematic depth and sonic diversity.

Dark Matter Tracklist:

1. ‘Sacred Of Fear’
2. ‘React, Respond’
3. ‘Wreckage’
4. ‘Dark Matter’
5. ‘Won’t Tell’
6. ‘Upper Hand’
7. ‘Waiting For Stevie’
8. ‘Running’
9. ‘Something Special’
10. ‘Got To Give’
11. ‘Setting Sun’

Guitarist Mike McCready offered insights into the album’s creative process, highlighting its heavier sound compared to previous releases. Collaborating with producer Andrew Watt, known for his work with artists like Miley Cyrus and Post Malone, Pearl Jam found renewed inspiration and focus in the studio. McCready emphasized Watt’s role in pushing the band to rediscover their signature sound, blending elements of their early records with a contemporary edge.

Reflecting on their musical journey, McCready teased a resurgence of his lead guitar prowess, promising listeners a fresh sonic experience enriched by his dynamic performances.

Dark Matter follows in the footsteps of its predecessor, Gigaton, which received praise for its bold experimentation and enduring relevance. As anticipation builds for the new release, Pearl Jam continues to solidify their status as one of rock music’s most influential acts.

In addition to their musical endeavors, Pearl Jam remains committed to supporting emerging talent, as evidenced by Eddie Vedder’s recent gesture of generosity towards young musicians in Hawaii, where he surprised them with brand-new guitars for Christmas.

With Dark Matter, Pearl Jam embarks on a new chapter in their illustrious career, inviting listeners to immerse themselves in a sonic exploration fueled by passion, energy, and unwavering creativity.