Sufjan Stevens Announces Upcoming Album “Javelin” and Releases Lead Single “So You Are Tired”

Sufjan Stevens Announces Upcoming Album "Javelin" and Releases Lead Single "So You Are Tired"

Sufjan Stevens, the acclaimed musician known for his versatile artistry, has excited fans with the announcement of his upcoming album titled Javelin, scheduled for release on October 6th. As a tantalizing preview, Stevens has unveiled the album’s lead single, the soul-stirring “So You Are Tired.”

Javelin stands as a testament to Stevens’ singer-songwriter roots, harkening back to a more intimate and introspective style. Recorded primarily by Stevens himself, the album also boasts collaborative contributions from notable figures such as Bryce Dessner from The National, along with vocalists Adrienne Maree Brown, Hannah Cohen, Pauline de Lassus (known as Mina Tindle), Megan Lui, and Nedelle Torrisi. This 10-track musical journey culminates with a poignant cover of Neil Young‘s classic “Thereʼs a World,” a homage to Young’s 1972 masterpiece Harvest.

The physical release of Javelin offers a special treat to fans, encompassing a 48-page book featuring Stevens’ own artwork. In addition, the book contains 10 concise essays that provide unique insights into the themes and inspirations that breathe life into each song on the album.

sufjan stevens javelin album artwork cover so you are tired preorder

With “So You Are Tired,” the album’s lead single, Stevens embraces a return to the stripped-down, acoustic sound that resonated in his celebrated 2015 album Carrie & Lowell. This heartfelt song showcases Stevens’ mastery of poignant lyricism, despite his recent explorations into instrumental compositions. The single delves into themes of self-reflection and vulnerability, punctuated by the resonant question, “Was it really all just a joke?”

Javelin Tracklist:
01. Goodbye Evergreen
02. A Running Start
03. Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
04. Everything That Rises
05. Genuflecting Ghost
06. My Red Little Fox
07. So You Are Tired
08. Javelin (To Have and To Hold)
09. Shit Talk
10. Thereʼs a World

Javelin emerges following Sufjan Stevens’ earlier release, the ballet score “Reflections,” in May, and a vinyl reissue of his 2003 LP Michigan in June. With an expected release date of October 6th, Javelin will be presented under Stevens’ personal label, Asthmatic Kitty Records. Enthusiasts can participate in pre-orders to secure their spot in experiencing a captivating blend of artistry and emotion.