Listen to Witch’s new song featuring Sampa the Great as they announce their first new album in 39 years and a tour.

Picture of Witch

Witch, the iconic Zambian garage and psych rock band that released music throughout the 1970s and ’80s, has announced their first new album in 39 years. Zango is set to release on June 2 via Desert Daze Sound. Experience the video for their new track “Avalanche of Love,” featuring Sampa the Great, below.

According to the band, “Zango” means “meeting place.” In a statement, they explained that every village in Zambia has a central location where villagers gather to prepare for work, where young people go to learn, and where visitors come to meet and engage. “It’s an institution, a place where people are welcomed, and where people come for research. It speaks to our band and its various backgrounds and countries. We are at our own meeting point with our music.”

After a reissue campaign began in 2011, Witch returned to performing live shows. Filmmaker Gio Arlotta documented their journey in the 2019 film Witch: We Intend to Cause Havoc.

The band’s current lineup includes Emmanuel “Jagari” Chanda, Patrick Mwondela, Jacco Gardner, Nico Mauskoviç, Stefan Lilov, and JJ Whitefield. Discover Witch’s upcoming tour dates below.

Zango tracklist:

  1. By the Time You Realize
  2. Waile
  3. Nshingilile [ft. Keith Kabwe]
  4. Streets of Lusaka
  5. Unimvwesha Shuga [ft. Hanna Tembo and Theresa Ng’ambi]
  6. Avalanche of Love [ft. Sampa the Great]
  7. Malango [ft. Hanna Tembo and Theresa Ng’ambi]
  8. Stop the Rot
  9. These Eyes of Mine
  10. Message From Witch

Witch’s tour dates are listed below, with various shows featuring support from Death Valley Girls, Abraxas, Les Claypool’s Fearless Flying Frog Brigade, Sonny & the Sunsets, Mauskovic Dance Band, and Al Lover’s World Dance Party.