Sqürl Announces Debut Album Silver Haze & Shares First Single “Berlin ’87”

Marginal Rock band, Sqürl, created by renowned film director; Jim Jarmusch and producer; Carter Logan shares the first single off its anticipated debut album Silver Haze. The track, titled “Berlin ’87,” comes with an accompanying music video directed by Jem Cohen.

The clip of the new song presents ten-year-old music and footage. Cohen reveals: “Roaming Central and Eastern Europe soon after the fall of the Berlin Wall, backpack crammed with Super 8 cameras, I was deeply moved by the landscape. I couldn’t have guessed some of the footage would surface over a quarter-century later in a film for Jim and Carter’s band. They work hard to forge their expansive sound, with its indomitable beat and secret harmonics. Glad I had that backpack, and to be of service.”

Working closely with Randall Dunn (Boris, Earth, Zola Jesus, and Marissa Nadler), the band said: “Jim created the basic guitar tracks first in his home studio, with memories of living in Berlin in 1987 floating around him. The tracks were then Sqürlized by Carter & Randall at Circular Ruin.” The LP, which is set to be released on May 5 via Sacred Bones, also includes contributions from Charlotte Gainsbourg, Anika, and Marc Ribot.

Silver Haze “expands on SQÜRL’s passion for creating rich textural sounds, finessed by a keen ear for production. The band is known for playing with everything from analogue synths to broken radios and pulling inspiration from painters, writers, and birds on the street. Silver Haze is a poetic journey of spoken words, dynamic instrumentals, drone riffs and distorted effects, one that features tubular bells and a cello in addition to their signature stacks of delay, encircling the listener in a warm oscillation both delicate and devastating.”

See the full tracklist of Silver Haze below: 

  1. Sqürl: “Berlin ’87”
  2. Sqürl: “The End of the World”
  3. Sqürl / Marc Ribot: “Garden of Glass Flowers” 
  4. Sqürl / Anika: “She Don’t Wanna Talk About It” 
  5. Sqürl / Marc Ribot: “Il Deserto Rosso”
  6. Sqürl / Charlotte Gainsbourg: “John Ashbery Takes a Walk”
  7. Sqürl: “Queen Elizabeth”
  8. Sqürl: “Silver Haze”

Watch the official music video for “Berlin ’87” here: