Christine and the Queens Shares “To Be Honest” From Paranoïa, Angels, True Love

Christine and the Queens

French singer-songwriter, Christine and the Queens, announces a new album, called Paranoïa, Angels, True Love. Including collaborations with Madonna and 070 Shake, the upcoming record, produced by Mike Dean, arrives on June 9 via Because Music.

Following Redcar les adorables étoiles (prologue), the album introduces 20 tracks, among which are “Full of Life,” “Big Eye,” “I Feel Like An Angel,” and the recently released “To Be Honest,” which is accompanied by a black and white music video filmed by Chris himself. 

The 34 year old gives a dance performance at the sea, while singing: “I get lost in my thoughts, and for hours of time/ And it’s making me feel/ Like I am not alone anymore/ To be honest (to be honest)/ I am trying to love, but I’m afraid to kill/ And I never know when/ When to search or stay still/ So I fly/ To be honest/ with you.”

The press release describes the LP as follows: “This new record is the second part of an operatic gesture that also encompassed 2022’s Redcar les adorables étoiles. Taking inspiration from the glorious dramaturgy of Tony Kushner’s iconic play, Angels in America, Redcar felt colorful and absurd like Prior sent to his insane dream-space.”

Paranoïa, Angels, True Love is a “key towards heart-opening transformation, a prayer towards the self—the one that breathes through all the loves it is made of. Prior’s real agony in Angels in America is a deep, painful becoming, a shedding of all waters and memories, that then allows angels to immerse deep too, and offer back profound, narrative-altering love—a rest in true love.”

Paranoïa, Angels, True Love

Disc 1:

  1. Tears Can Be So Soft 
  2. Marvin Descending 
  3. A Day in the Water
  4. Angels Crying in My Bed [ft. Madonna]
  5. Flowery Days

Disc 2:

  1. True Love [ft. 070 Shake]
  2. Aimer, Puis Vivre
  3. Lick the Light Out [ft. Madonna]
  4. To Be Honest

Watch the official music video for “To Be Honest” here:

Listen to “To Be Honest” below: