The C.I.A. Share “Impersonator” From Forthcoming Album: ‘Surgery Channel’

Ty and Denée Segall of the C.I.A. introduce their upcoming album Surgery Channel with a new song titled “Impersonator.” The couple along with band member Emmet Kelly (The Cairo Gang) will release the 12-track LP on January 20, 2022 via the independent record label In the Red.

The lead single comes with a music video directed by Joshua Erkman and Denée Segall whose warped and distorted features are the central focus of the frame. The visuals blend her face with the profiles of famous fictional characters like Miss Piggy, Pinhead from Hellraiser, Gollum, Chucky, and others.

“Impersonator” builds anticipation and tension with its exhilarating and pulsing mood. Denée’s emotive vocals produce a haunting but seducing effect that go well with the suspense created by the tick-tocking drum beats. 

Surgery Channel  follows C.I.A.’s self-titled debut album, released in 2018. The Garage-Punk group recorded the forthcoming LP with Mike Kriebel at Ty Segall’s Harmonizer Studios. Prior to “Impersonator,” Segall dropped his solo LP Hello, Hi including songs like “Blue,” “Good Morning,” and “Over.”

See the full tracklist of Surgery Channel below:

  1. Introduction
  2. Better
  3. Inhale Exhale
  4. Impersonator
  5. Surgery Channel Pt. I 
  6. Surgery Channel Pt. II”
  7. Bubble
  8. You Can Be Here
  9. The Wait
  10. Construct
  11. Under
  12. Over

Watch the music video for “Impersonator” here: