Nina Hagen Shares Music Video For “16 Tons” From Upcoming Album Unity

Punk and New Wave pioneer Nina Hagen makes an epic return with her latest track “16 Tons.” The lead single of the forthcoming album Unity, which will come out on December 9, 2022 via Grönland, is accompanied by a music video directed by Sebastian Vogt.

The 67-year-old will release the 12-track record after 11 years since the 2011 album Volksbeat. In addition to “16 Tons” and the title track “Unity,” the anticipated LP will include songs like “United Women of the World,” “Shadrack,” and “Redemption Day.”

In this new record, the German icon sheds light to social issues. Hagen felt compelled to write about the Black Lives Matter movement and address societal and economic matters, “You load sixteen tons and what do you get?/ Another day older and deeper in debt/ St. Peter, don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go/ I owe my soul to the company store.”

Check the full tracklist of Unity below: 

  1. Shadrack 
  2. United Women of the World 
  3. Unity 
  4. 16 Tons 
  5. Atomwaffensperrvertrag 
  6. Gib Mir Deine Liebe 
  7. Venusfliegenfalle 
  8. Redemption Day 
  9. Geld Geld Geld 
  10. Die Antwort Weiss Ganz Allein der Wind 
  11. Open My Heart (Dinner Time) 
  12. It Doesn’t Matter Now

Watch the Official Video for “16 Tons” here: