Sharon Van Etten Releases A New Emotional Track Titled “Never Gonna Change”

American singer-songwriter Sharon Van Etten shared her new single “Never Gonna Change,” which will be on the tracklist of the deluxe version of We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong. The special edition will come out on November 11 via Jagjaguwar and will include the previously released singles “Porta” and “Used To It.”

“Never Gonna Change” was co-produced by Daniel Knowles and Van Etten. The indie-rock artist confesses that the song is about her son and “managing depression and anxiety in the midst of isolation. Coping with recurring fears throughout adulthood, acknowledging that flaws, fears and triggers can’t be overcome, they are a constant part of one’s identity to learn to be at peace with.”

She utterly describes her feelings with the melancholic lyrics: “Deepened in the waves/ Sheltered, saw to it don’t waste away/ Same old thoughts awake/ Shame the voice and try to trace the chains/ I’m never gonna change, I’m never gonna change/ I hear my voice deepens as it pains.”

Sharon Van Etten was recently on tour with Angel Olsen and Julien Baker. The Alternative musician will soon be heading to Australia to promote the LP We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong. In addition to the original songs and “Never Gonna Change,” the deluxe version will also feature the unheard song “When I Die.” 

Check the Tracklist of We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong *Deluxe Edition below:

01)  Darkness Fades 

02)  Home to Me 

03)  I’ll Try 

04)  Anything 

05)  Born 

06)  Headspace 

07)  Come Back 

08)  Darkish 

09)  Mistakes 

10)  Far Away 

11)  Never Gonna Change 

12)  Porta 

13)  Used To It 

14)  When I Die

Check out the lyric video here: