Gorillaz Share The Official Visualizer of “New Gold” Ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown

Gorillaz fans are blown away with their latest release “New Gold,” featuring the psychedelic Tame Impala and The Pharcyde’s Bootie Brown. Damon Albarn introduced the song late last month at All Points East music festival with Kevin Parker, “It’s kind of a mad song, to be honest with you.”

The video is directed by Jamie Hewlett and produced by Alexa Pearson. It’s everything that a “New Gold” should be; lustrous, golden, and sparkly. The visuals show the band members covered in gold and animations of gold chains, police badges, and pills flying around. With psychedelic kaleidoscopic animations and shiny filters, it seems that the Gorillaz aren’t disappearing anywhere anytime soon!

The alternative-pop track is a mix of Gorillaz’ upbeat energy, Tame Impala’s captivating psychedelic sounds, and Bootie Brown’s flaming verses. Damon Albarn produced the album with Greg Kurstin and the band’s drummer Remi Kabaka Jr. The explosive combo of Brown and Parker brings out an infectious chorus sung by Tame Impala: “But in the magic gold, there’s a pretty one/ I ask her where it goes, cause I really wanna/ I wonder if she knows the way underwater/ And that’s the way it goes in this silly wonder.”

“New Gold” is from Gorillaz’ 8th studio album Cracker Island. The 10-track LP features Stevie Nicks, Bad Bunny, Beck, Adeleye Omotayo, and is set to come out on February 24, 2023 via Warner Records. The virtual band released the album’s title track featuring Thundercat in July. Their last studio LP was The Now Now in 2018, which was followed by 2020’s Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez.

Check the Cracker Island tracklist below:

1. Cracker Island ft. Thundercat 

2. Oil ft. Stevie Nicks 

3. The Tired Influencer 

4. Tarantula 

5. Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo 

6. New Gold ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown 

7. Baby Queen 

8. Tormenta ft. Bad Bunny 

9. Skinny Ape 

10. Possession Island ft. Beck

Watch the official visualizer here: